Thank You to MJ

The Speakers Bureau

In the 2016 Presidential election year, the referendums and constitutional amendment proposals on the primary election and general election ballots generated a lot of interest and many questions. Our Speakers Bureau was in great demand to help voters understand the issues. We filled 73 speaking engagements, reaching an audience of 2,893 persons. Many of the groups who invited our presentations donated honorariums to the League. In 2016, the Speakers Bureau generated donations totaling $2371.00.

The topics we offered were: The August 30 Primary; Campus Carry; Your Florida Government, Your County Government; Gun Safety; Climate Change; and Decision 2016. Our speakers were: Rosalie Almborg, Christene Campbell Gabor, Debra Chandler, Barbara Eriv, Ethelene Jones, Geoff Kashdan, Diane Kessler, Marcia Lamel, Corinne Miller, Barbara Phillipi, Mary Jane Range, Les Rivkin, Mark Schneider, Linda Strosberg, Ken Thomas, Barbara Walker, Dorothy Weiss, and Sarah Younger.

Mary Jane Range stepped down as chair of the Speakers Bureau after 5 years of service. She’s done an outstanding job, growing us into one of the most successful LWV Speakers Bureaus in the state. A big “Thank You” to MJ and each of our wonderful speakers for a very successful year!

Ethelene Jones, M.D.

Speakers Bureau chairperson